Flag of India : New India’s 75th Independence Day : Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav

The National Flag of India, popularly Known as the “Tricolour”, is a horizontal rectangular tricolour flag with Saffron, White and Green colour respectively from top to bottom. There is the Ashoka Chakra, at the center of the flag which is Navy blue in colour. It is 24 Spoke wheel.

Ahead of India’s 75th Independence anniversary, on the 15th of August 2022, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged the citizens of India. On Sunday, 31st July 2022, The PM said that “Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav” is turning into a mass campaign and urged the people to put the Tricolour as the display pictures in their social media profiles from 2nd to 15th of August 2022.

Understanding the evolution of the National Flag of India

The National Flag of India has in itself a long history. It went through a number of types and designs and changes before it was agreed upon and adopted in its current form and version of today.

Bhagini (Sister) Nivedita flag – 1905

Bhagini Sister Nivedita flag 1905
Flag of India

This flag was the first version. It was designed by Sister Nivedita, popularly known as Bhagini Nivedita. She was a disciple of Swami Vivekananda. The flag was yellow and red in colour and had a ‘Vajra’ in the centre and ‘Vande Mataram’ written in Bengali language.

The Unofficial Flag of India 1906

Unofficial flag of India 1906

This first unofficial flag of India was hoisted in Parsee Bagan, known as Girish Park in modern day Kolkata. This flag had green, yellow and red colour strips in equal horizontal portions. This flag had symbolic representations both Islam and Hinduism. In the center it was written as ‘Vande Mataram’ in Devnagari script.

Berlin Committee Flag 1907

Berlin Committee flag 1907

Later, after the flag unfurled at Parsee Bagan, another flag came into existence known as the Cama Flag or the Berlin Committee flag. the design of this flag was collectively done by Madam Bhikaji Cama, Veer Savarkar and Shyamji Krishna Verma. This flag hhad saffron colour in the top horizontal space with eight lotuses in it insted of red colour on top in the previous flag.

The Homerule Movement Flag 1917

The Homerule Movement Flag 1917

This flag was designed by prominent revolutionaries Annie Besant and Bal Gangadhar Tilak. When the Homerule Movement was at its peak, this flag came into existence. There was vast differences of this flag from previous all other flags. This flag had five red strips and four green strips alternatively with seven stars imposed on it.

Unofficially adopted National flag of 1921

Unofficially adopted national flag of 1921

When Mahatma Gandhi visited Vijayawada in the year 1921, for the All India Congress Committee, Pingali Vemkayya designed a flag and submitted it to him. This flag had only green and red strips representing Hindus and Muslims. Mahatma Gandhi suggested the adding of white colour strip in it and a Charkha at the center. Thus this flag later on laid the foundation of the modern day Tricolour flag of india.

Also Read: The New President Of India Smt. Draupadi Murmu

Flag adopted in 1931

india  flag adopted in 1931

Pingali Venkayya, after almost a decade, redesigned the flag of India to make it more inclusive. This flag had saffron on top instead of red at the top. The white strip was placed at the center, while the green remained at the bottom of the flag. The Charkha was duely placed in its position at the center. Later a resolution was passed by the Congress to make this flag the Official Flag of the Country.

Frequently Asked Questions

When did the Current official flag of India came into existence?

The official flag came into existence in the year 1947.

How many spokes does the Chakra have?

The Chakra has 24 spokes in total. it was adopted from Ashoka’s Dharma Chakra.

Which was the first version of The Flag of India?

Bhagini Sister Nivedita Flag of 1906

The Tricolour

The final changes of the current Tricolour Flag of India came in the year of India’s Independence, 1947. The Charkha was replaced. Instead of the Charkha, Ashoka’s Dharma Chakra was placed in the middle white strip.

To Conclude

Thus, in this way this flag became the National Flag of the dominion of India after it was accepted and adopted by the Constituent assembly. India got its independence from the colonial rule on 15th Of August 1947 and later on became a republic on 26th of January 1950.

Leave a Comment